FAQ

What is orthodontics?

Orthodontics is the branch of dental medicine that deals with the alignment of teeth, maxillary joints (“jaws”) and lips. Straight teeth make for a more beautiful smile. They also work better and are easier to clean.


What is an orthodontist?

An orthodontist is a dentist who has specialized in orthodontics. After graduating with a degree in dentistry, he moves on to an accredited orthodontic program. The program takes a minimum of 2 years full-time and is taught by qualified orthodontists. The great majority of North American programs last 3 years.


Why is it important to have straight teeth?

With straight teeth we have a correct bite and can chew and speak properly. Well-positioned teeth and jaws contribute to good health because the teeth are easier to maintain. They meet properly with good occlusion (how the teeth close together) thus preventing excessive wear and gum problems.


Straight teeth give us a more beautiful smile. A beautiful smile contributes to self-esteem. And a good sense of self-esteem can have a positive impact on our personal and professional life.


How can we straighten teeth?

Please go to the “Braces” page.


How long does an orthodontic treatment last?

Even though each case is different, for most people an orthodontic treatment runs from 18 to 24 months.


When should I consult an orthodontist?

Please check out the “When to consult” page.


Is orthodontics only for children?

No. Teeth can be moved at any age. Today, one out of every five orthodontic patients is an adult. If your treatment requires a multidisciplinary approach, we can work in close collaboration with your dentist and other specialists in the field.


Can I afford orthodontics?

We offer various payment plans. The costs and payment methods will be discussed during your consultation, and we can also provide you with an estimate for your insurance.


How much does an orthodontic treatment cost?

In normal cases, prices vary between $2,500 and $4,500 for children, and between $5,000 and $9,000 for adults. There are no additional costs for surgical cases or for cosmetic braces.


Is the treatment painful?

Most patients tell us that their teeth feel sensitive for about 3 days. The use of over-the-counter medications and analgesics is enough to deal with any pain. In addition, we offer wax and silicone to soothe any areas that are irritated by the braces. A very simple home remedy is warm salt water.


How often will I have to go to an appointment?

Appointments are approximately every 6 to 8 weeks. Near the end of the treatment, however, your appointments will be closer together so that we can monitor your progress more closely.


What happens during a typical appointment?

Once the patient is sitting in the orthodontist’s chair, the hygienist looks at the file while the patient discusses the upcoming procedure with the orthodontist. After the procedure has been carried out, the doctor checks the quality of his work and gives a date for the next appointment. The doctor then answers all of the questions to ensure the patient is comfortable before he leaves. Most appointments end with a discussion with the parent.


How long is each appointment?

Most appointments last from 15 to 30 minutes. More time is needed when installing the braces. The initial installation of the braces takes about 2 hours.


Are treatments covered by insurance?

Many treatments are covered by insurance. We would be pleased to provide you with all the documents you need for your insurance company.


Consult the pamphlet issued by your insurance company and read the dental benefit section. Or, contact your insurance company directly. They will advise you of your orthodontic benefit. This is best done before the initial consultation visit.


What happens when the treatment is over?

After the treatment, patients follow a two-year maintenance program. We provide the patient with a retainer and then book the follow-up appointments to make sure that your new smile will last for a long time to come.


What happens if a patient is not ready for treatment?

We put these patients on a call-back list until they are old enough to receive orthodontic treatments. We wait until the time is right because treatment will be more effective and more economical. In other words, we wait to be able to give you the best care, at the best time, for the best price!


What colours are available for braces?

Any colour you can possibly imagine! Patients with transparent braces can also add colour to their mouth. We do everything we can to ensure that our patients feel good and enjoy their orthodontic treatments.


What happens if I can’t make it to an appointment?

Please give us 48 hours working days notice if you can’t keep your appointment


What should I do in case of emergency?

If you have an emergency situation, such as something breaking or cutting your mouth, or if something is preventing you from closing your mouth, please call us at 450-688-4093.


How do we begin the process?

Simply call us at 450-688-4093 for a consultation. Our doctor will examine you and determine the best treatment plan for you. If necessary, we may need to take x-rays for an extra fee.


Most information contained in this text comes from the American Association of Orthodontists.

cta

Remarkable transformations, beautiful smiles

Before and after​
Copyright Dr Christos Sideris 2017 - Legal
Created by

Legal notice

FAQ

Qu’est-ce que l’orthodontie?

L’orthodontie est la branche de la médecine dentaire qui s’occupe de l’alignement des dents, des maxillaires (« mâchoires ») et des lèvres. Des dents droites sont plus belles lorsqu’on sourit. De surcroît, elles fonctionnent mieux et sont plus faciles à nettoyer.


Qu’est-ce qu’un orthodontiste?

Un orthodontiste est un dentiste spécialisé en orthodontie. Suite à sa formation en médecine dentaire, il a suivi une formation universitaire dans un programme accrédité en orthodontie. L’enseignement, d’une durée minimale de 2 ans à temps plein, est assuré par des orthodontistes qualifiés. La grande majorité des programmes nord-américains sont d’une durée de 3 ans.


Pourquoi est-il important d’avoir les dents droites?

Des dents droites nous permettent d’avoir une bonne occlusion, de bien mastiquer et de bien parler. Des dents et des maxillaires bien positionnées peuvent contribuer à la santé par le fait que les dents sont plus faciles à entretenir et que la fonction se fait sur une bonne occlusion (manière dont les dents ferment ensemble) afin d’éviter l’usure et les problèmes de la gencive.. Ils peuvent également jouer un rôle au niveau de la respiration.


Des dents droites nous permettent également d’avoir un joli sourire. À son tour, un beau sourire contribue à l’estime de soi. Enfin, une bonne estime de soi peut influencer de façon positive notre vie personnelle et professionnelle.


Comment peut-on faire aligner ses dents?

Veuillez visiter la page Appareils de traitement pour connaître la réponse.


Quelle est la durée d’un traitement d’orthodontie?

Même si chaque cas est différent, pour la grande majorité la durée se situe entre 18 et 24 mois.


Quand faut-il consulter un orthodontiste?

Veuillez visiter la page Quand consulter pour vous aider à reconnaître les signes.


L’orthodontie est-elle réservée aux enfants?

Non. Les dents peuvent être déplacées à n’importe quel âge. De nos jours, un patient sur cinq traité en orthodontie est un adulte. Si votre traitement nécessite une approche multidisciplinaire, nous travaillerons en étroite collaboration avec votre dentiste ainsi que d’autres spécialistes dans le domaine.


Est-ce que je peux me payer un traitement d’orthodontie?

Nous offrons différents plans de paiement. Lors de votre consultation, nous vous informerons des coûts ainsi que des modes de paiement. Nous vous remettrons également une estimation pour vos assurances.


Combien coûte un traitement d’orthodontie?

Dans les cas normaux, les tarifs varient entre 2500$ et 4500$ pour les enfants et entre 5000$ et 9000$ pour les adultes. Il n’y a pas de frais additionnels pour les cas chirurgicaux ou pour les broches cosmétiques.


Le traitement est-il douloureux?

La plupart des patients nous disent que leurs dents sont sensibles pendant environ 3 jours. L’utilisation d’analgésiques disponibles dans toutes les pharmacies est suffisante pour éliminer la douleur. De plus, nous offrons de la cire et de la silicone pour soulager les endroits irrités par les broches. Un remède maison simple est l’eau salée tiède.


À quelle fréquence auront lieu les rendez-vous?

Il se passe environ 6 à 8 semaines entre chaque rendez-vous. Vers la fin du traitement, les visites se rapprochent pour effectuer un suivi plus serré.


Que se passe-t-il lors d’un rendez-vous typique?

Une fois le patient assis, l’hygiéniste consulte le dossier pendant que le patient discute avec l’orthodontiste des procédures prévues. Après les procédures, le docteur vérifie la qualité du travail et donne la date du prochain rendez-vous. Il répond à toutes les questions pour assurer le confort du patient avant son départ. La plupart des rendez-vous se terminent par une discussion avec le parent.


Combien de temps dure le rendez-vous?

La plupart des rendez-vous durent entre 15 et 30 minutes. Il faut ajouter du temps lorsque les broches sont installées. La pose initiale des broches dure environ 2 h.


Les traitements sont-ils couverts par les assurances?

La plupart des traitements sont couverts par les assurances. Nous nous ferons un plaisir de vous procurer tous les documents nécessaires pour vos assureurs.


Consultez votre compagnie d’assurance qui sera en mesure de vous expliquer les avantages reliés à l’orthodontie. Nous vous conseillons de faire ceci avant votre premier rendez-vous.


Que se passe-t-il quand le traitement est terminé?

Après le traitement, les patients suivent un programme de maintenance d’une durée de deux ans. Nous fournissons un appareil de rétention et planifions des rendez-vous de suivis pour assurer la longévité de votre nouveau sourire.


Que se passe-t-il si un patient n’est pas prêt pour le traitement?

Nous plaçons ces patients sur une liste de rappel jusqu’à temps que leur développement permette des soins d’orthodontie. En attendant le moment opportun, le traitement sera plus efficace et plus économique. En d’autres mots, nous attendons de pouvoir vous donner les meilleurs soins, au meilleur moment, pour le meilleur prix!


Quelles sont les couleurs disponibles pour les broches?

Toutes les couleurs que vous pouvez imaginer! Les patients avec des broches transparentes peuvent également ajouter de la couleur dans leur bouche. Nous faisons notre possible pour que nos patients se sentent bien et apprécient leurs soins d’orthodontie.


Quoi faire s’il n’est pas possible de se présenter au rendez-vous?

Nous vous demandons de nous avertir 48 heures ouvrables avant la date de votre rendez-vous si vous n’êtes pas en mesure de vous présenter. La cause la plus importante de traitement plus long que prévu est l’annulation des visites. Il est donc primordial de retarder le moins possible le traitement en prenant un autre rendez-vous rapidement.


Quoi faire en cas d’urgence?

Si une situation d’urgence survient, tel un bris ou un objet coupant la bouche (ou l’empêchant de se fermer), appelez-nous au 450-688-4093.


Comment commencer le processus?

Contactez-nous au 450-688-4093 pour une consultation. Un de nos docteurs vous examinera et pourra ainsi déterminer le meilleur plan de traitement. Si nécessaire, des radiographiques seront prises, moyennant des frais supplémentaires.


La majorité des informations contenues dans ce texte provient du site du American Association of Orthodontists.

cta

Des transformations remarquables, des sourires resplendissants

Avant et après​
Création de

Mention legale